What are the qualifying medical conditions?
Florida Amendment 2 greatly increased the number of conditions that may be treated with medical marijuana, including:
- Parkinson's disease
- Crohn's disease
Please feel free to call our office if you have questions: 727-209-5470. Under Amendment 2, the physician is able to evaluate a condition that you may have that is not listed above. (Ex: chronic pain, seizuers, spasms, etc.)
Are there any legal issues if I use medical marijuana?
Medical marijuana is still considered illegal by the federal government. Thus far, the government has not pursued action against patients who use marijuana for medical purposes.
Who will know that I am obtaining medical marijuana?
The Compassionate Care Database is open to law enforcement, the health department and licensed dispensaries. Your information is protected in our office.
If I visit with you and do not receive a recommendation for medical marijuana, do I still have to pay?
No. If you do not qualify or receive a recommendation, you will be refunded your money in full!
How much marijuana am I allowed to have?
According to Florida State law, each patient may only be prescribed a 70-day supply of medical cannabis at a time.
Will I be smoking the marijuana?
No. It is illegal to provide medical marijuana in a smoking format in the state of Florida. However, vaping is legal and has become very popular among our patients. If you do not wish to vape, there are many other options including oils and tinctures.
Do you have to be a certain age to be prescribed medical marijuana?
One must be 18 years or older, unless accompanied by a parent. In order to treat a child, our office will need to consult with a second physician. The prescription must then be provided to a parent, legal guardian, or healthcare surrogate acting pursuant to a court’s authorization.
Where and when can I purchase the medical marijuana?
Once registered in the Compassionate Care Database, one may contact any of the six Florida-licensed dispensaries.
One may obtain medical cannabis in person at a dispensary. Or, as an alternative, their order may be delivered directly to them in person by a representative of the dispensary for a nominal fee.
How long does the process take?
It varies. Dr. Brown can certify you for medical marijuana during your initial evaluation. The application process is what is variable in terms of time. But once the application has been processed and you have received your medical ID, you can then go to a dispensary for medical marijuana.
Will I receive my recommendation or card on the first visit?
If Dr. Brown decides to make a recommendation for medical marijuana for you, she will make that recommendation during your first evaluation with her. You will be certified during this appointment, at which point your medical ID card will be applied for. Once you receive your ID, you will be able to receive medical marijuana from a dispensary.
What is a telemedicine visit?
It is a live video conversation between you and our medical practice, so that you can remain in the comfort of your own home. You will receive step-by step instructions and if you have any technical difficulties, just call us and we will walk you through the process. During this process you can also privately upload your past medical records for your convenience.
I’ve noticed in other states medical marijuana physician visits are much cheaper. Why is that?
State to state, marijuana laws and the requirements on recommending physician vary greatly. In the state of Florida, marijuana physicians cannot simply write a 1 year recommendation in a one-time appointment, they must re-issue the recommendation itself every 45 days. This means a LOT more work for physicians, and more time that they must spend on every patient.
If you have additional questions about medical marijuana, please contact AMRX today by calling 727-209-5470. Dr. Brown and her team welcome patients in and around St. Petersburg, Tampa and all of Florida.